Things my kids happily ate this month

I’m pretty lucky in that my kids eat well. Nothing I did or didn’t do; kids eat how and when they want, it’s the luck of the draw.

G Major eats one or two veg of every colour and that’s enough for me; I don’t care if she doesn’t love aubergine or asparagus. Obviously, that means I can’t performance parent in the veg aisle at Waitrose but at least she’s getting her vitamins. G Minor doesn’t know the difference yet so I give her all the fruit and veg that are looking a little sad and use them up that way.

That said, I’m still after guaranteed winners that tick all the nutritional boxes, are easy for little hands to manage and, most importantly, don’t take up too much of my time to make. If you want, the kids can help, or you can just bash these out in 10 mins with minimal cleanup.

So here are some things my kids ate happily in January. I’m not always one for exact amounts, sorry, but you’ll get a feel for it as you make them. It’s all a bit yellow and brown, too, I now realise. Never mind.

Chicken patties
img_4287
These look and taste a lot like chicken nuggets. Dip them into ketchup for that authentic experience.

Steam or sauté some courgette, carrots and mushrooms, then whizz them up with some chicken breast and an egg.

Form into little patties and shallow fry.

 


Corn muffins

More hidden veg. G Minor likes these split and spread with a little cream cheese; G Major likes them as they are, just warmed through.

img_4107Purée a can of sweet corn and add a handful each of grated carrot, courgette and cheese. You could throw in some chopped peppers or peas if you wanted.

Add a beaten egg and enough self raising flour to bring everything together – you want a nice “plopping” consistency.

Bake in muffin tins at 180C for about 20 minutes.


Cheese scones

Good for using up the dregs of the cheddar and perfect with soup. You do need a proper recipe for this one.

225g SR flour
55g butter
Pinch of salt
1 tsp baking powder
80ml milk
Couple of handfuls of cheese – I used a mix of cheddar and parmesan.

Grate the butter into the flour then rub in. Add the salt and baking powder then the milk. Mix in the cheese.

Pat out gently into a rectangle, cut into 12 squares. Put onto a hot baking tray and bake for 10-15 minutes.


2-ingredient banana pancakes
img_4108
Naturally sweet, these take seconds to make and about the same time to eat.

Mash a large banana, add a beaten egg and mix til you get a loose consistency.

Drop into a hot pan and flip when ready.  Keep them small, like drop scones/scotch pancakes.

 

 

 

