Korean-style chicken wings

I’m a bit obsessed with Korean food at the moment (me and most of the food universe, it seems). Big G and I went to On the Bab in January, and I’ve put bibimbap bowls on my birthday wish list.

I think part of the reason is that I’m doing the 5:2 diet, and on fast days a spike of chilli and some tangy pickles makes a little food feel like it’s going further.

These chicken wings are definitely not fast day food, though.

I adapted this recipe for my wings. I didn’t bother to brine my chicken; I only fried the wings once, because arteries; and I put in less garlic and more honey, as I made these for Valentine’s Day.

Big G loved them, and he was enamoured of the wings we had at On the Bab, so I’ll call this a success.

Ingredients

Chicken wings (I served us 5 each)
3 cloves of garlic
A thumb-sized piece of ginger
3 tbs soy sauce
3 tbs gochujang
1 tbs rice vinegar
1 tbs sesame oil
2 tbs honey
Equal parts plain flour and corn flour
Salt and pepper
Oil for frying

Method

Joint the chicken wings so you separate the little drumettes and the wing.

Blitz the garlic and ginger, then add this paste to a small saucepan with the soy, honey, gochujang, vinegar and sesame oil. Bring to the boil then simmer til thickened, then you can set this aside.

Heat the oil. Season your flour then whisk in some water a little at a time until you get a smooth, thin batter. In small batches, dip the chicken wings in then fry until golden. Drain briefly then coat with the warm sauce.

Eat with your fingers.

 

 

 

