White choc chip banana bread 

I had some leftover ripe bananas this morning, and I thought I also had a courgette in the fridge, so I had intended to make a banana, courgette and lemon cake. Except I had actually already used the courgette up in this pesto.

But it was fine, as I had chocolate chips in the pantry from decorating Big G’s birthday cake last week, so I decided to use those instead.

This recipe uses honey and coconut oil instead of sugar and butter. I think ‘clean eating’ is nonsense and as far as I’m concerned, usually cakes = butter and sugar and so much the better for it. But I quite like the coconut flavour with the banana – they’re both on the ‘tropical’ spectrum, as is the honey. Plus, there’s chocolate in the cake, which makes it a moot point.


What you need

⅓ cup coconut oil
½ cup honey
2 beaten eggs
¼ cup milk
2 mashed bananas
1/2 cup white chocolate chips, plus extra to ice
1 tsp bicarb
1 tsp vanilla extract
sprinkle of salt
½ tsp ground cinnamon
¾ cups plain flour

What you do

  • Preheat the oven to 160C and line a loaf tin
  • Whisk together the oil, honey, eggs, bananas and milk.
  • Whisk in the bicarb, vanilla, salt and cinnamon, then add the chocolate chips.
  • Gently fold in the flour
  • Pour the batter into the loaf tin and bake for an hour, checking at 50 mins
  • Once cool, drizzle with melted chocolate chips

 

One thought on “White choc chip banana bread 

Comments are closed.